Securities And Exchange Commission (SEC)

A federal agency created in 1934 by an act of Congress to regulate various aspects of the securities industry. The SEC is made up of five commissioners, each appointed by the President, with the advice and consent of the Senate, for a five-year term. In order to ensure the political independence of the commissioners, no more than three may be from the same political party at any one time. The statutes administered by the SEC are designed to promote full public disclosure and protect the investing public against fraudulent and manipulative practices in the securities markets. Generally, most issues of securities offered in interstate commerce or through the mails must be registered with the SEC.

« Back to Glossary Index

Comments are closed.